[Color photograph of Murphy Courts of Appeal Building] Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building,
Annapolis, Maryland, April 1999.
Photo by Diane P. Frese.

Joseph F. Murphy, Jr., Chief Judge, Court of Special Appeals, At Large, 2004

Sally D. Adkins, Judge, 1st Appellate Circuit, 2000
James R. Eyler, Judge, 2nd Appellate Circuit, 2006
William W. Wenner, Judge, 3rd Appellate Circuit, 2006
James P. Salmon, Judge, 4th Appellate Circuit, 2006
Raymond G. Thieme, Jr., Judge, 5th Appellate Circuit, 2008
Arrie W. Davis, Judge, 6th Appellate Circuit, 2002
Andrew L. Sonner, Judge, 7th Appellate Circuit, 2008

Deborah Sweet Byrnes, Judge, At Large, 2008
Ellen L. Hollander, Judge, At Large, 2006
James A. Kenney III, Judge, At Large, 2008
Peter B. Krauser, Judge, At Large, 2000
Charles E. Moylan, Jr., Judge, At Large, 2008

Robert C. Murphy Courts of Appeal Building
361 Rowe Blvd.
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 260-1450
1-888-200-7444 (toll free)
tty: (410) 260-1553

Appellate Circuits


Former Judges

Historical Evolution

Organizational Chart

Organizational Structure

Origin & Functions


  • 1st Appellate Judicial Circuit (Caroline, Cecil, Dorchester, Kent, Queen Anne's, Somerset, Talbot, Wicomico & Worcester Counties)
  • 2nd Appellate Judicial Circuit (Baltimore County & Harford County.)
  • 3rd Appellate Judicial Circuit (Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, Howard & Washington Counties)
  • 4th Appellate Judicial Circuit (Prince George's County)
  • 5th Appellate Judicial Circuit (Anne Arundel, Calvert, Charles & St. Mary's Counties)
  • 6th Appellate Judicial Circuit (Baltimore City)
  • 7th Appellate Judicial Circuit (Montgomery County)



    Joseph F. Murphy, Jr., Chief Judge (designated by Governor)
    (410) 887-3206, (410) 260-1465


    Sally D. Adkins, Judge (410) 548-4822
    Deborah Sweet Byrnes, Judge (410) 887-2641
    Arrie W. Davis, Judge (410) 333-3200
    James R. Eyler, Judge (410) 887-3286
    Ellen L. Hollander, Judge (410) 333-6241
    James A. Kenney III, Judge (301) 475-2591
    Peter B. Krauser, Judge (410) 260-1469
    Charles E. Moylan, Jr., Judge (410) 727-2470
    James P. Salmon, Judge (301) 952-5855
    Andrew L. Sonner, Judge (301) 217-8100
    Raymond G. Thieme, Jr., Judge (410) 260-1520
    William W. Wenner, Judge (301) 694-1842

    Maryland Judiciary
    Maryland Government
    Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
    Maryland Departments
    Maryland Independent Agencies
    Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
    Maryland at a Glance

    Maryland Manual On-Line

    Search the Manual

     Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

    July 18, 2000   
    Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

    [ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
    ||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

    Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

    Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives