Edwin S. Crawford, Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Joel A. Carrington; John L. Green; David S. Iannucci, Esq.; Christopher B. Nelson, J.D.; Charles B. Saunders, Jr.; Karl Spain.

Appointed by Senate President: Patrick J. Hogan; Edward J. Kasemeyer.

Appointed by House Speaker: Mathew J. Mossburg; Mark K. Shriver.

Appointed by State Treasurer: Mark A. Reger

Staff: Paula Fitzwater; Kwame Kwakye.

c/o Maryland Higher Education Commission
16 Francis St.
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-2971, ext. 137
fax: (410) 974-3513

In 1996, the Task Force on the Maryland Prepaid-Tuition Savings Program was created (Chapter 89, Acts of 1996). The Task Force charge was to study prepaid-tuition savings programs in order to establish the Maryland Prepaid-Tuition Savings Program. The Task Force considered the duties and membership of a board to oversee the Program; Program staffing, funding, and structure; the experience of other states with prepaid-tuition savings programs; and issues relating to tax status and federal security laws.

In December 1996, the Task Force submitted its report to the Governor, the Senate Budget and Taxation Committee, the Senate Economic and Environmental Affairs Committee, the House Appropriations Committee, and the House Ways and Means Committee.

The work of the Task Force led to passage of a law creating the Maryland Higher Education Investment Program in 1997 (Chapter 110, Acts of 1997).

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives