Col. David B. Mitchell, Chair (chosen by Governor)
Douglas F. Gansler, Vice-Chair (chosen by Governor)
William Harrison, Vice-Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: James V. Aluisi; Patricia A. Foerster; David A. Goad; J. Alex Haller, Jr., M.D.; Neil A. Meyerhoff, Esq.; Joan K. Paik; Stephen P. Teret, Esq.; Anthony M. Walker; Wilma E. Welch; Rev. Dr. Douglas Wilson.

Nominated by Senate President: Walter M. Baker; Jennie M. Forehand.

Nominated by House Speaker: Ann Marie Doory; Thomas E. Hutchins.

Ex officio: Georges C. Benjamin, M.D., Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Gilberto de Jesus, Secretary of Juvenile Justice; Stuart O. Simms, Secretary of Public Safety & Correctional Services; Col. David B. Mitchell, Secretary of State Police; Bonnie A. Kirkland, Esq., Special Secretary for Children, Youth, and Families.

Staff: Mary Ellen Barbera (410) 974-3005
Anita E. Harewood (410) 974-3336

c/o Governor's Office of Legal Counsel & Regulatory Affairs
Shaw House
State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-3005
fax: (410) 974-2077

In June 1999, the Governor established the Governor's Task Force on Childproof Guns (Executive Order 01.01.1999.18). The Task Force drafted legislation to prevent the unintentional and criminal misuse of handguns by children and other unauthorized users. On December 1, 1999, the Task Force submitted its report to the Governor.

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives