Paul L. Vance, Ph.D., Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Tamera S. Carlton; Lorraine E. Cornish; Jay M. Gillen, Ph.D.; Edward R. Grabenstein; Robert C. Rice, Ph.D.; Dale Eileen Templeton; John L. Wisthoff, Ph.D.

Appointed by Senate President: Joan Carter Conway; Christopher J. McCabe.

Appointed by House Speaker: John R. Leopold; Salima S. Marriott.

Ex officio: Nancy S. Grasmick, Ph.D., State Superintendent of Schools.

Staff: Sarah E. Dickerson (410) 946-5530
N. Lynn Raymond (410) 946-5530
Fran May (410) 946-5350

c/o Dept. of Legislative Services
90 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 946-5200, (301) 970-5200

The Task Force on Public Charter Schools formed in September 1998 (Chapter 720, Acts of 1998). The Task Force reviewed House Bill 999 (the authorizing bill for the task force) as originally introduced in 1998, and other states' statutes relating to public charter schools. The Task Force recommended legislation to ensure that Maryland public charter schools will qualify and be competitive for federal assistance.

On December 8, 1998, the Task Force submitted its final report to the Governor and General Assembly.

Defunct Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives