Gerald Connolly, Fairfax County, Virginia, Chair (chosen by Board, 1-year term)

Appointed by Maryland municipal governments:
Bowie: G. Frederick Robinson
College Park: Michael J. Jacobs
Gaithersburg: Geraldine E. Edens
Greenbelt: Judith F. Davis
Rockville: Robert E. Dorsey
Takoma Park: Bruce R. Williams

Appointed by Maryland county governments:
Frederick County: Mark L. Hoke
Montgomery County: Douglas M. Duncan; Gail H. Ewing; William E. Hanna, Jr.
Prince George's County: Wayne K. Curry; M. H. (Jim) Estepp.

Selected by legislative delegations from Frederick, Montgomery & Prince George's counties: Paul S. Stull

Terms expire 2000.

Michael C. Rogers, Executive Director

777 North Capitol St., NE, Suite 300
Washington, DC 20002 - 4239
(202) 962-3200
fax: (202) 962-3202
tdd: (202) 962-3213

The Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments was formed in 1957 as an independent, nonprofit association of officials from seventeen local governments surrounding Washington, DC; members of the Maryland and Virginia legislatures; and members of Congress. The Council functioned as a voluntary instrument for inter-local cooperation until its incorporation in 1965 as an intergovernmental agency of its participating county and municipal governments.

The Council develops regional responses to issues such as the environment, economic development, population growth, transportation, housing, health, public safety, human relations, and family concerns. It also is designated by the federal government as the regional planning organization for metropolitan Washington, DC. To assist with planning, the Council provides a regional geographic information system and specialized computer and technical services.

Annually, participating local governments and caucuses of state legislative delegations from the region choose the Board of Directors. The Board consists of twenty-eight members: four selected from the District of Columbia; three each from Fairfax County, Virginia, and Montgomery County, Maryland; two from Prince George's County; one from each remaining local jurisdiction; and one member each from the Maryland and Virginia legislatures. The Council is supported by financial contributions from its participating local governments, federal and state government contracts, and through donations from foundations and the private sector.

Katherine H. Porter, Takoma Park, Chair (chosen by Board, 1-year term)

Appointed by Maryland municipal governments:
Bowie: Dennis Brady
College Park: Peter J. King
Gaithersburg: Stanley J. Alster
Greenbelt: Rodney M. Roberts
Rockville: Glennon J. Harrison
Takoma Park: Katherine H. Porter

Appointed by Maryland county governments:
Frederick County: Jan H. Gardner
Montgomery County: Nancy H. Dacek; Albert J. Genetti.
Prince George's County: Betty Hager Francis; Peter A. Shapiro.

Selected by legislative delegations from Frederick, Montgomery & Prince George's counties: Ulysses Currie; Carol S. Petzold.

Appointed by Secretary of Transportation: Marsha Kaiser

The National Capital Region Transportation Planning Board was created in 1965 by a memorandum of agreement among officials of Maryland, Virginia, the District of Columbia, and local governments in the region. The Board was established to meet transportation planning requirements of the Federal Aid Highway Act of 1962, and, in 1966, became associated with the Council of Governments. The Board serves as the Council's transportation policy committee.

As a condition of eligibility for federal transit and highway assistance, the Board develops and adopts regional transportation plans and programs based on assessing and analyzing data on travel patterns in the Washington metropolitan area. Since 1991, the Board has directed the use of over $500 million annually to reduce traffic congestion, meet air quality requirements, and guide development through highway and transit improvements (federal Transportation Equity Act of 1998).

Robert J. Wright, Rockville, Maryland, Chair (chosen by Committee, 1-year term)

Appointed by Maryland municipal governments:
Bowie: vacancy
College Park: Eric C. Olsen
Gaithersburg: Geraldine E. Edens
Greenbelt: Thomas X. White
Rockville: Robert J. Wright
Takoma Park: Larry Rubin

Appointed by Maryland county governments:
Calvert County: Christopher Jakubiak
Charles County: Anthony J. O'Donnell
Frederick County: Terre Roy Rhoderick
Montgomery County: Philip M. Andrews; Douglas M. Duncan; Blair G. Ewing.
Prince George's County: Peter A. Shapiro; Samuel Wynkoop, Jr.

Selected by legislative delegations from Calvert, Charles, Frederick, Montgomery & Prince George's counties: Arthur Dorman; James W. Hubbard.

Appointed by Secretary of the Environment: Ann Marie DiBiase

Appointed by Secretary of Transportation: Richard L. Sheckells, Jr.

In 1991, the Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee was certified by the mayor of Washington, DC, and the governors of Maryland and Virginia to carry out planning requirements of the federal Clean Air Act amendments of 1990 in the Washington Metropolitan Statistical Area. The Committee develops strategies to reduce emissions that pollute the air. The Committee also conducts air quality regional planning to meet the 1999 federal deadline mandated for ozone reduction and other requirements to reduce pollution from ozone and carbon monoxide.

Interstate Agencies
Maryland Intercounty Agencies
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives