Chair: Parris N. Glendening, Governor of Maryland

Ex officio: Thomas J. Ridge, Governor of Pennsylvania; James S. Gilmore, Governor of Virginia; Anthony A. Williams, Mayor, District of Columbia; Arthur D. Hershey, Chair, Chesapeake Bay Commission; Carol M. Browner, Administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.

c/o Chesapeake Bay Commission
60 West St., Suite 200
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 263-3420
fax: (410) 263-9338

The Chesapeake Executive Council was established by the Chesapeake Bay Agreement of 1983 to coordinate the work of restoring and protecting Chesapeake Bay. In accordance with the 1987 Chesapeake Bay Agreement, the Council is the governing body for these efforts. Parties to the 1987 Agreement are the State of Maryland; the Commonwealths of Pennsylvania and Virginia; the District of Columbia; the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, representing the federal government; and the Chesapeake Bay Commission. The Council's six members serve ex officio.


Maryland members appointed by Governor: Clarence I. Laird; Kurt Lipholdt.

The Local Government Task Force concluded its work in October 1996.

Interstate Agencies
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives