Chair (chosen by Commission): Arthur D. Hershey, Pennsylvania

Vice-Chairs (chosen by Commission): Brian E. Frosh, Maryland; Jerrauld C. Jones, Virginia.

Appointed by Senate President: Brian E. Frosh; J. Lowell Stoltzfus.

Appointed by House Speaker: Charles A. McClenahan; Michael H. Weir; John F. Wood, Jr.

Appointed by Senate President & House Speaker: C. Bernard Fowler

Ex officio: Sarah J. Taylor-Rogers, Ph.D., designee of Governor

Ann Pesiri Swanson, Executive Director

60 West St., Suite 200
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 263-3420
fax: (410) 263-9338

Originally founded on a bi-state agreement between Maryland and Virginia, the Chesapeake Bay Commission was created in 1980 (Chapter 674, Acts of 1980). Its formation stemmed from recommendations of the Chesapeake Bay Legislative Advisory Commission on the need for improved interstate coordination of Bay-wide management. In 1985, Pennsylvania joined the Commission.

The Commission helps the legislatures of Maryland, Virginia, and Pennsylvania evaluate and respond to problems relating to the Chesapeake Bay. The Commission also encourages coordinated resource planning and action among the executive agencies of the three member states and serves as liaison to the U.S. Congress.

Twenty-one members (seven from each signatory state) belong to the Commission. Five from each state are state legislators whose terms coincide with those of their office. Of the Maryland legislative members, two are senators named by the Senate President and three are delegates chosen by the Speaker of the House of Delegates. The Governor or designee serves as a member. Another member, who is neither a legislator nor a member of the Executive branch, is selected jointly by the Senate President and the House Speaker. Nonlegislative members serve no longer than four years unless reappointed. Selected by the members, the chair and vice-chair alternate annually among the delegations from the three states. Each state contributes equally to the annual budget, $160,000 for Fiscal Year 2000 (Code Natural Resources Article, secs. 8-302 through 8-304).

Interstate Agencies
Maryland & the Federal Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives