John J. McMullen, Jr., Chair (chosen by Governor), 1995

Appointed by Allegany County Board of County Commissioners: R. Neil Williams, D.C., 1999

Appointed by Garrett County Board of County Commissioners: Wendell R. Beitzel, 2001

528 Maryland Ave.
Westernport, MD 21562
(301) 777-1515
e-mail: gmpg@hereintown.net

The Upper Potomac River Commission was established in 1935 (Chapter 409, Acts of 1935). It supervises the Savage River Dam in Garrett County. The Dam regulates the flow of the Potomac River. In addition, the Commission has jurisdiction over the water resources of Allegany County and Election District 4 (Bloomington) in Garrett County, Maryland.

The Commission's three members serve six-year terms. The Allegany County and Garrett County Boards of County Commissioners each appoint a member. The Governor names the chair.

Intercounty Agencies
Maryland Counties & Municipalities
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives