David D. Downes, Esq., Chair (chosen by Court of Appeals)

Appointed by Court of Appeals: J. Donald Braden, Esq.; Leo E. Green, Jr., Esq.; Linda H. Lamone, Esq.; Dana P. Miller; G. Douglas Reinhard, Esq.; Jerry S. Sachs; Thomas L. Starkey, Esq.; B. Harriette Taylor, Esq.; Mayda C. Tsaknis, Esq.

Melvin Hirshman, Esq., Bar Counsel

People's Resource Center, Suite 3301
100 Community Place
Crownsville, MD 21032 - 2027
(410) 514-7051
1-800-492-1660 (toll free)

By Rule of the Court of Appeals, the Attorney Grievance Commission was created in 1975 to administer discipline and supervise the inactive status of lawyers (Md. Rules 16-701 through 16-718). At the same time, the Court of Appeals established a disciplinary fund to cover expenses of the Commission and provided for an Inquiry Committee and a Review Board to act upon disciplinary cases (Md. Rules 16-705).

The Commission appoints, subject to approval of the Court of Appeals, a lawyer to serve as bar counsel and principal executive officer of the disciplinary system. The bar counsel and staff investigate all matters involving possible misconduct, prosecute disciplinary proceedings, and investigate petitions for reinstatement.

The Commission consists of eight lawyers and two lay persons appointed by the Court of Appeals. The chair is named by the Court. The Commission meets monthly.

Harry K. Wolpoff, Esq., Chair
(301) 951-8500
fax: (301) 951-6230

The Inquiry Committee formed in 1975. From the Committee, panels are created to hear complaints in Baltimore City or in whichever county holds the main office of the attorney against whom a complaint is filed.

Appointed by the Attorney Grievance Commission, the Inquiry Committee consists of attorneys selected by the Bar Associations of the counties and Baltimore City, and lay members. As of February 2000, the Committee has approximately 300 members.

Walter B. Childs, Esq., Chair, 2000
Thomas J. Renner, Esq., Vice-Chair, 2001

Selected by Board of Governors, Maryland State Bar Association, & appointed by Attorney Grievance Commission:

1st Appellate Circuit: one vacancy

2nd Appellate Circuit: Louise T. Keelty, Esq., 2000; Thomas J. Renner, 2001; Alan R. L. Bussard, Esq., 2002.

3rd Appellate Circuit: William M. Rudd, Esq., 2002

4th Appellate Circuit: Maureen Epps Webb, Esq., 2002

5th Appellate Circuit: Walter B. Childs, Esq., 2000

6th Appellate Circuit: Aaron Kadish, Esq., 2000; Ronald M. Cherry, Esq., 2002; William S. Little, Esq., 1999; one vacancy.

7th Appellate Circuit: Karen L. Bonnin, Esq., 2000; John F. Burke, Esq., 2001; Hugh E. Donovan, Esq., 2001; Robert A. Rohrbaugh, Esq., 2001.

Appointed by Attorney Grievance Commission: Sol Goldstein; Barry P. Gossett; Phyllis G. Lessans. Terms expire 2001.

Organized in 1975, the Review Board consists of eighteen members appointed to three-year terms by the Commission. Fifteen are attorneys selected by the Board of Governors of the Maryland State Bar Association. Three are lay members from the State at large. Judges are not permitted to serve on the Board.

Maryland Judiciary
Maryland Government
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line


 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives