Chair: Kathleen Kennedy Townsend, Lt. Governor, designee of Governor

Appointed by Governor to 2-year terms: Cynthia A. Evey; Hathaway Ferebee; Wayne Ferrell; Joanne T. Hiss; Rachel Knox Carey; Deborah B. Moore; Carol Dunston Reckling; Maxine H. Seidman; Sandra J. Skolnik; Lauren J. Stephenson; Donna D. Truesdell, Ph.D.; Thomas E. Waite; Latrey L. Washington; Marina Wierzalis; Karol L. Wolgemuth. Terms expire 2001.

Office of Crime Control & Prevention representative: Larry Dawson

Ex officio: Christopher Van Hollen, designee of Senate President; Mark K. Shriver, designee of House Speaker; Rosemary King Johnson, designee of State Superintendent of Schools; Cheryl Duncan DePinto, designee of Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Walter G. R. Wirsching, designee of Secretary of Juvenile Justice; Lynda G. Fox, Secretary of Human Resources; Bonnie A. Kirkland, Esq., Special Secretary for Children, Youth, & Families.

Contact: Colleen Mahony

c/o Office of Lt. Governor
State House
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-5394
fax: (410) 974-2077

Annual Report of Executive Committee to General Assembly due Dec. 31.

In 1999, the Advisory Board on After-School Opportunity Programs was established (Chapter 586, Acts of 1999). To address the issue of children left unsupervised after school, the Maryland After-School Opportunity Act created a fund, a program, and an executive committee, as well as the Board. In consultation with the Board and the Executive Committee, the Department of Human Resources administers the Maryland After-School Opportunity Fund. From the Fund, grants are awarded for after-school opportunity programs by the Executive Committee in consultation with the Board (Code 1957, Art. 41, secs. 6-801 through 6-807).

On December 30, 1999, the Board issued its first comprehensive plan for the Maryland After-School Opportunity Fund Program. The first request for proposals was distributed to local jurisdictions through local management boards in February 2000. In order to receive funding, each local jurisdiction is expected to develop a comprehensive after-school program network with significant community input, and respond by May 12, 2000.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives