Stefan C. Goodwin, Ph.D., Chair (chosen by Governor)

Appointed by Governor: Iris Carter Ford, Ph.D.; Sharon Harley, Ph.D.; Elmer Perry Martin, Jr., Ph.D.; Jessie Cottman Smith; Evelyn W. Townsend.

Appointed by Senate President: Clarence W. Blount; Roy P. Dyson.

Appointed by House Speaker: Joanne C. Benson; Emmett C. Burns, Jr.

Ex officio: John T. Willis, Secretary of State

Staff: Dawn C. Flythe

c/o Office of Secretary of State
State House
Annapolis, MD 21401
(410) 974-5521, ext. 477
1-888-874-0013 (toll free)
e-mail: dflythe@sos.state.md.us
fax: (410) 974-5190
tdd: (410) 333-3098

In March 1999, the Task Force to Study the History and Legacy of Slavery in Maryland was created (Chapter 718, Acts of 1998). The Task Force charge was to study the history of slavery in Maryland, especially its social, economic and educational impact, and identify the accomplishments of African Americans who were slaves.

On December 31, 1999, the Task Force reported to the Governor and General Assembly.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives