Appointed by Governor & Lt. Governor:
Daniel W. Moylan, Chair

David M. Altschuler, Ph.D.; Elijah E. Cummings; Frederick E. Davis; Thomas W. Davis; David R. Fishkin, Esq.; Nancy K. Kopp; Bart Lubow; Nathaniel J. McFadden; Michael R. Sarbanes; Calvin D. Street; Jean Yahudah.

Contact: Faye Taxman, Ph.D.

c/o Recidivism Reduction Laboratory
Bureau of Governmental Research
4511 Knox Road, Room 301
University of Maryland, College Park
College Park, MD 20740
(301) 403-4403
e-mail: ftaxman@crim.umd.edu

The Juvenile Offender Aftercare Assessment Team was formed by the Governor in December 1999. The Team reviewed Maryland's system for supervising juvenile offenders after they are released from juvenile facilities, particularly from the Youth Centers in Western Maryland. To strengthen that supervision, the Team was to identify the most successful aftercare models and how much they cost, and compare Maryland's aftercare structure to them. The Team designed a system for the State that incorporates effective existing initiatives, such as HotSpots, Break the Cycle, and Spotlight in Schools. The Team also recommended how to implement such a system, and set timetables for the agencies involved.

On February 28, 2000, the Team submitted its report to the Governor and Lieutenant Governor.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives