Chair (chosen by Governor): Jane T. Nishida, Secretary of the Environment

Appointed by Governor: Michael Hirshfield; John Morton; C. A. (Dutch) Ruppersberger III.

Ex officio: Henry A. Virts, D.V.M., Secretary of Agriculture; Georges C. Benjamin, M.D., Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Sarah J. Taylor-Rodgers, Ph.D., Secretary of Natural Resources; David McMillion, Director, Maryland Emergency Management Agency.

Staff: James L. Hearn

c/o Water Management Administration
Dept. of the Environment
2500 Broening Highway
Baltimore, MD 21224
(410) 631-3567
e-mail: jhearn@mde.state.md.us

On July 29, 1999, the Governor declared a drought emergency in Maryland and appointed the Drought Emergency Coordinating Committee (Executive Order, 01.01.1999.22). In its report of August 3, 1999, the Committee recommended implementation of mandatory restrictions on water use which the Governor imposed on August 4, 1999 (Executive Order 01.01.1999.24). Those restrictions were lifted on September 2, 1999. All Maryland citizens, businesses, industries, and community organizations, however, are urged to reduce voluntarily their use of water to the maximum extent possible (Executive Order 01.01.1999.28).

The Committee advised the Governor on statewide drought conditions and concluded its work in December 1999.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual
e-mail: mdmanual@mdarchives.state.md.us

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives