Chair (chosen by Governor): Sue Fryer Ward, Secretary of Aging

Appointed by Governor with Senate advice & consent to 4-year terms: John E. Burleigh III; Mallory W. Crawford; David E. Harmon; Elizabeth L. Jones; Mary C. (Cass) Naugle; seven vacancies. Terms expired 1998.

Ex officio: Georges C. Benjamin, M.D., Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene; Lynda G. Fox, Secretary of Human Resources.

Staff: Ilene W. Rosenthal

c/o Housing Services Division
Dept. of Aging
301 West Preston St., Room 1007
Baltimore, MD 21201
(410) 767-1118
fax: (410) 333-7943

In 1984, the Assisted-Living Programs Board began as the Domiciliary Care Facilities Board. It was created by the Governor at the request of the General Assembly (Joint Resolution no. 23, Acts of 1984). The Board was established by law in 1986 (Chapter 726, Acts of 1986; Code 1957, Art. 41, sec. 10-601).

In 1996, assisted-living programs were authorized under the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (Chapter 147, Acts of 1996). The same law provided for the Domiciliary Care Facilities Board to be renamed the Assisted-Living Programs Board effective October 1997; however, the Board ceased to function before that time having last met in 1996.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives