In 1963, legislation authorized the University of Maryland to establish a campus at Catonsville in Baltimore County (Code Education Article, sec. 13-104 (f)). The University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC) opened its doors to its first freshmen in September 1966. In 1988, the University became part of the University of Maryland System (Chapter 246, Acts of 1988). The System was renamed University System of Maryland in 1997 (Chapter 114, Acts of 1997).

For the greater Baltimore region, the University of Maryland Baltimore County is the doctoral research institution. Undergraduate and graduate programs are offered in the arts, sciences, social sciences, humanities, and engineering.

University System of Maryland
Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives