In 1914, the Injured Workers' Insurance Fund began as the State Accident Fund, established as part of the State Industrial Accident Commission (Chapter 800, Acts of 1914). The Fund was reorganized as the Commissioners of the State Accident Fund, a separate agency, in 1941 (Chapter 504, Acts of 1941). Formerly under the Commissioner of Personnel, the agency joined the Department of Personnel in 1970 (Chapter 98, Acts of 1970). The Commissioners of the State Accident Fund became an independent agency on July 1, 1988 (Chapter 585, Acts of 1987). In 1990, it was renamed the Injured Workers' Insurance Fund (Chapter 71, Acts of 1990).

The Injured Workers' Insurance Fund insures those employers who are unable or choose not to obtain insurance from private companies, and who are not self-insurers. The Fund also acts as claims administrator for all State employees for Workers' Compensation Insurance.

As required by the Workers' Compensation Law, employers carry insurance through the Fund to pay claims arising from accidents and injuries to their employees. All expenses of the Fund are paid out of income from premiums paid and interest on Fund investments. The State Treasury is prepaid for operating expenses of the Fund.

The Board for the Injured Workers' Insurance Fund consists of seven members. They are appointed to five-year terms by the Governor with Senate advice and consent (Code Labor and Employment Article, secs. 10-101 through 10-141).

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives