[Photograph of Department Secretary] GEORGES C. BENJAMIN, M.D., Secretary of Health & Mental Hygiene

Secretary of Health and Mental Hygiene since May 3, 1999. Deputy Secretary for Public Health Services, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, 1995-99.

Member, Governor's Executive Council, 1999-; Cabinet Council on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, 1999-; Governor's Subcabinet for Children, Youth, and Families, 1999-; Governor's Council on Adolescent Pregnancy, 1999-; Advisory Board on After-School Opportunity Programs, 1999-; Interagency Committee on Aging Services, 1999-; Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Waste Commission, 1999-; Asbestos Oversight Committee, 1999-; Task Force to Conquer Cancer in Maryland, 1999; State Child Fatality Review Team, 1999-; Governor's Task Force on Childproof Guns, 1999; Drought Emergency Coordinating Committee, 1999; State Emergency Medical Services Board, 1999-; State Commission on Infant Mortality Prevention, 1999-; State Information Technology Board, 1999-; Maryland Medicaid Advisory Committee, 1999-; Interdepartmental Advisory Committee for Minority Affairs, 1999; Maryland Advisory Council for New Americans, 1999-; Interagency Nutrient Reduction Oversight Committee, 1999-; Task Force on Quality of Care in Nursing Facilities, 1999; State Advisory Council on Organ and Tissue Donation Awareness, 1999-; Maryland Partnership for Children, Youth, and Families, 1999-; Governor's Pesticide Council, 1999-; Task Force on Regulatory Reform, 1999-; Safe Schools Interagency Steering Committee, 1999-; Women's Health Promotion Council, 1999-; Governor's Year-2000 Readiness Task Force, 1999-2000. Board of Trustees, Maryland Health Care Foundation, 1999-. Member, Task Force on the Environmental Effects of Methyl Tertiary-Butyl Ether (MTBE), 2000-.

Born in Chicago, Illinois, September 28, 1952. Illinois Institute of Technology, B.S., 1973; College of Medicine, University of Illinois, M.D., 1978. Fellow, American College of Physicians, 1981. Chief, Acute Illness Clinic, Madigan Army Medical Center, 1981-83; Emergency Medicine, Walter Reed Army Medical Center, 1983-87. Chair, Department of Community Health and Ambulatory Care, District of Columbia General Hospital, 1987-90. Acting Health Commissioner, District of Columbia, 1990-91. Director, Emergency Ambulance Bureau, District of Columbia, 1990-91, 1994-95. Dehaven-Hinkson Award, National Medical Association, 1985. Distinguished Public Service Award, District of Columbia, 1991. Noble J. Swearingen Award, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 1998.

Maryland Constitutional Offices & Agencies
Maryland Departments
Maryland Independent Agencies
Maryland Executive Commissions, Committees, Task Forces, & Advisory Boards
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives