Joint statutory committees are created by act of the General Assembly. Their duties, membership, and tenure are specified either in the Annotated Code of Maryland or the Laws of Maryland. Most commonly, these committees are composed of an equal number of members from the Senate and House of Delegates.

Presently, the General Assembly has thirteen joint statutory committees: Legislative Policy; Administrative, Executive and Legislative Review; Budget and Audit; Chesapeake Bay Critical Areas; Children, Youth, and Families; Federal Relations; Health Care Delivery and Financing; Legislative Ethics; Management of Public Funds; Spending Affordability; Vehicle Emissions Inspection; Welfare Reform; and Workers' Compensation Benefit and Insurance Oversight.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives