John C. Astle, Co-Chair (chosen by Senate President)
Clay C. Opara, Co-Chair (chosen by House Speaker)

Appointed by Senate President: John C. Astle; Martin G. Madden.

Appointed by House Speaker: Patricia Anne Faulkner; Clay C. Opara.

Appointed jointly by Senate President & House Speaker: Doris Adams; Toni Bellissimo; Joseph DiPietro; Juin Killingsworth; Richard Knapp, Jr.; James Mayhew; Patricia McGill; Robert O'Hara; A. Kimbrough Sherman; Neil Sweren; William L. Wilcox, Jr.

Representing Office of Attorney General: Rebecca G. Bowman

Ex officio: George Kinsel, designee of Commissioner of Financial Regulation, Department of Labor, Licensing, & Regulation

Staff: Tamela D. Burt; Shelley K. Finlayson; Theodore E. King, Jr.

c/o Office of Policy Analysis
Department of Legislative Services
90 State Circle
Annapolis, MD 21401 - 1991
(410) 946-5460, (410) 946-5484/7

In 1997, the Task Force to Examine the Mortgage Lending Business was created (Chapter 388, Acts of 1997). The Task Force reviewed issues pertaining to fraudulent practices in the mortgage origination business and considered whether current State laws are effective and enforceable against such practices. It examined the legal relationship between mortgage lenders, mortgage brokers, and borrowers. The Task Force also evaluated individual licenses for loan officers and additional disclosure requirements as deterrents to fradulent practices, and considered the amount of fees charged and collected when a borrower enters into a secondary mortgage loan.

The Task Force submitted its recommendations to the Governor, the Senate Finance Committee, and the House Commerce and Government Matters Committee in December 1997. Authorization for the Task Force ended on January 31, 1998.

Defunct Legislative Committees, Commissions, & Task Forces

Maryland Manual On-Line

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives