Following the practice of the English House of Commons, the Lower House of Maryland's General Assembly began to use standing committees in the seventeenth century. Though membership would change, the functions of these standing committees continued from year to year. In 1692, the Lower House (predecessor of today's House of Delegates) formed four standing committees. These first committees concerned Accounts; Aggrievances; Elections and Privileges; and Laws. They were responsible for considering all proposed laws on a given subject. Any bills relating to their assigned subject matter received committee review before any final action on the floor.

To review proposed legislation today, the House of Delegates has six standing committees: Appropriations; Commerce and Government Matters; Economic Matters; Environmental Matters; Judiciary; and Ways and Means. Two additional standing committees, assigned other duties, are Rules and Executive Nominations, and Consent Calendars.

House of Delegates
General Assembly
Legislative Committees
Legislative Process
Maryland Government
Maryland at a Glance

Maryland Manual On-Line

Search the Manual

 Maryland Manual On-Line, 2000

July 18, 2000   
Note: In this past edition of Maryland Manual, some links are to external sites.  View the current Manual

[ Archives' Home Page  ||  All About Maryland  ||  Maryland Manual On-Line  ||  Reference & Research
||  Search the Archives   ||  Education & Outreach  ||  Archives of Maryland Online ]

Governor     General Assembly    Judiciary     Maryland.Gov

Copyright July 18, 2000 Maryland State Archives